top of page

Country Music Stars are Coming Together for a Tom Petty Tribute Album

Luke Combs, Dolly Parton, Chris Stapleton and more country music super stars are coming together for a tribute album that will feature the hits of legendary musician Tom Petty.

The album, called “Petty Country: A Country Music Celebration of Tom Petty” is set to drop May 31, according to All Country News. The 20-track album will feature modern covers of Petty’s signature songs from some of the biggest names in the genre, the news outlet said.

The first of these tracks to drop was Dierks Bentley’s rendition of Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers’ 1977 single “American Girl,” which was released Friday, Feb. 23.

“When you get asked to reimagine one of the greatest rock and roll songs of all time by one of the most iconic American musicians of all time, the first thing you do is call up some of the greatest acoustic pickers of all time for the assist,” an Instagram post from Bentley reads. “My version of #AmericanGirl honoring @tompettyofficial is out today!

The full track list, according to All Country News, is as follows:

  1. “I Should Have Known It” by Chris Stapleton

  2. “Wildflowers” by Thomas Rhett

  3. “Runnin’ Down A Dream” by Luke Combs

  4. “Southern Accents” by Dolly Parton

  5. “Here Comes My Girl” by Justin Moore

  6. “American Girl” by Dierks Bentley

  7. “Stop Draggin’ My Heart Around” by Lady A

  8. “I Forgive It All” -byJamey Johnson

  9. “I Won’t Back Down” by Brothers Osborne

  10. “Refugee” by Wynonna Judd and Lainey Wilson

  11. “Angel Dream #2″ by Willie Nelson and Lukas Nelson

  12. “Learning to Fly” by Eli Young Band

  13. “Breakdown” by Ryan Hurd featuring Carly Pearce

  14. “Yer So Bad” by Steve Earle

  15. “Ways to Be Wicked” by Margo Price and Mike Campbell

  16. “Mary Jane’s Last Dance” by Midland

  17. “Free Fallin’” by The Cadillac Three featuring Breland

  18. “I Need to Know” by Marty Stuart And His Fabulous Superlatives

  19. “Don’t Come Around Here No More” by Rhiannon Giddens featuring Benmont Tench

  20. “You Wreck Me” (Live) by George Strait


bottom of page