top of page

Neil Young & The Stray Gators Share ‘Tuscaloosa’ Live Album

This Friday, Neil Young will release a new live album entitled Tuscaloosa recorded in part with The Stray Gators via Warner Records. The seven-track LP featuring highlights from Neil’s February 5, 1973 concert at the University Of Alabama in Tuscaloosa is available for streaming through Neil Young Archives.

The Stray Gators featured Ben Keith on pedal steel and vocals, Jack Nitzsche on keyboards, Tim Drummond on bass and drummer Kenny Buttrey. Tuscaloosa was recorded after Young released Harvest and before he put out Tonight’s The Night. “I found this thing and it had such a great attitude to it,” Neil told Rolling Stone of Tuscaloosa. “I just loved the whole night, so I put that together with [engineer] John Hanlon.” A recording of the concert never circulated in fan circles.

Here’s more information about Tuscaloosa from an article posted when the LP was announced:

Only two tracks from Neil’s 1973 live album, Time Fades Away are featured on Tuscaloosa. Time Fades Away was recorded during the same 1973 tour with The Stray Gators that included the show in Alabama. Young’s latest vault release contains five songs from his landmark 1972 studio album Harvest. Fittingly, the song “Alabama” made it on to Tuscaloosa. “Alabama” would disappear from Neil Young’s repertoire until 2015 following the early-1973 tour outside of a lone performance in 1977 as per Sugar Mountain.

Head to Neil Young Archives to stream Tuscaloosa ahead of its official release.

Tuscaloosa Tracklist

  1. Here We Are In The Years (3:56)

  2. After The Gold Rush (4:42)

  3. Out On The Weekend (5:29)

  4. Harvest (4:14)

  5. Old Man (4:17)

  6. Heart Of Gold (3:48)

  7. Time Fades Away (6:10)

  8. Lookout Joe (4:59)

  9. New Mama (3:01)

  10. Alabama (3:50)

  11. Don’t Be Denied (8:09)

bottom of page