top of page

Chris Smither “Call Me Lucky”

At 73 years old, songwriter, guitarist, bluesman, interpreter, performer, Chris Smither has been making music since 1970, just releasing “Call Me Lucky” his 18th studio album. His new 16-track double album offers commentary on the human condition in his ever-quirky look at life, love and the world we live in.

If you have never heard of Chris Smither, you have definitely heard his songs, as they have been covered by Bonnie Raitt, Emmylou Harris and Diana Krall. Performing constantly, he has toured with the likes of Dave Alvin, Ramblin’ Jack Elliott and Tom Russell as Hightone’s Monsters of Folk Tour.

From the opening track of “The Blame’s On Me” where the album title lyrical hook find it’s voice, to “Lower The Humble,” Smither raises the bar in songwriting, and is an American original, drawing deeply from folk and blues, modern day poets and philosophers.

“Call Me Lucky” is well played, sung and produced, an enjoyable and solid hour of great music, from start to finish. This is spot-on vintage Smither, an artist in every sense of the word, singing about the big things - life, love, loss- in an unpretentious way that penetrates the soul.

“Call Me Lucky” Track List:

Disc 1: A Side

  1. The Blame’s On Me

  2. Maybellene

  3. Down To The Sound

  4. Nobody Home

  5. By The Numbers

  6. Change Your Mind

  7. Everything On Top

  8. Sittin’ On Top Of The World

  9. Too Bad, So Sad

  10. Lower The Humble

Disc 2: B Side

  1. She Said She Said

  2. Everything On Top

  3. Down To The Sound

  4. Nobody Home

  5. Change Your Mind

  6. By The Numbers

Disc 2 contains quite different renditions of five of the original tracks from the first disc.

“Call Me Lucky” features mostly original material, but there are some interesting choices of covers, namely Chuck Berry’s “Maybelline.” This version is very different from any covers I have ever heard, with surprising elements including the presence of violin, some haunting whistling and the use of backing vocals. It is a very cool rendition.

There is also a very unique cover of “Sittin’ On Top Of The World,” written by Walter Vinson and Lonnie Chatman who were core members of the Mississippi Sheiks who first recorded it in 1930, and a new version of “She Said She Said” by Lennon and McCartney.

Smither is joined by producer David Goodrich, guitars and piano; Billy Conway or Mike Meadows, drums and percussion; Matt Lorenz, violin, keyboards, guitar and vocals; and Keith Gary, vocals. “Call Me Lucky” was recorded by Gary at The Blue Rock Ranch and Studio in Wimberley, Texas.

Play this music over and over again, the songs of Chris Smither demand repeat listening.

bottom of page